Family and Consumer Science

  • Middle School

    Family and Consumer Sciences standards were passed into law, January, 2003.

    Family and Consumer Science studies the relationship between individuals, families, and communities and the environment in which they live. It recognizes the importance positive human relationships, good nutrition, and a balanced lifestyle play in the ability of students to come to school ready to learn and to enter the ‘adult’ world ready to fulfill their role as productive citizens and raise strong families.
    Family and consumer sciences curriculum supports the knowledge and skills that students need as family members both now and in the future. In addition, it requires all students to investigate and plan for possible careers, develop practical skills for employment, develop financial literacy, manage resources, and practice positive communication skills. Our goal is to take increased responsibility for improving their quality of living and develop the knowledge and skills needed in making choices to meet their personal, family and work responsibilities.
    FCS speaks to the challenges we face as members of a global society and is delivered in an authentic manner. It lends itself to integration and collaboration with other disciplines. The rigorous curriculum is designed to be authentic, stress teamwork, leadership, and technology. It applies math, science, and communication skills to everyday living.

    In the middle school, all students will take FCS in 7th & 8th grade.

    Topics include:
    •    Balancing Family & Community Responsibility
    •    Interpersonal Communication & Conflict Resolution
    •    Food Science & Nutrition
    •    Personal & Family Finance & Resource Management
    •    Human Development
    •    Career Education & Work


    High School

    All FCS courses at the high school are electives and one semester in length. Students may select from the following classes:
    •    Introduction to Culinary Arts – 9th grade
    •    Living in the 21st Century – 9th & 10th grade
    •    Housing & Interior Design – 9th, 110th, 11th, & 12th grade
    •    Culinary Arts I – 10th, 11th, & 12th grade
    •    Culinary Arts II – (Culinary Arts I prerequisite) – 10th, 11th, & 12th grade
    •    Life Management Skills – 11th & 12th grade